OMG, it’s full of pandas

Jeez, Pandaria is gorgeous. I do not enjoy leveling grinds, but even on release night when I was miserable competing for quest mobx I kept seeing new stuff and thinking “amg, so amazing!”

And that’s just how it looks. The way it plays is…not terrible? I’m not a person who enjoys leveling for its own sake. I want to be at level cap and do the endgame things so I don’t expect that many people will share my opinion. But having said that, I do enjoy quests that tell stories and fill in the lore behind all this new strangeness. I had this urge to go back and quest in some of the areas that I skipped, but hey, the alts will get there soon enough.

It’s kind of nice to take things a little slower with the alts, too. I end up just riding around a lot to see what’s in the blank spot on the map, or how the view is from that hill.

It’s really interesting to me to see how Blizzard’s PvE dungeon design philosophy has changed over the last couple of years. The MoP heroics are going to be so fun in Challenge Modes. Yup.

On the negative side, I think the Jewelcrafting Research procedures to discover new cuts is kind of awful. I spend three superior gems on a daily CD to discover a cut, and in three days I haven’t yet learned one cut that I will use. Luckily, the crit rate on crafting uncommon gems is high–I’m wasting a lot of them to get the Perfects. I’m not looking forward to having my JC book cluttered up with a lot of things I don’t want to see.

I liked Wrath’s JC scheme the best. The dailies took 10 or 15 minutes and after four days of them you could learn the cut that was most important to you. The best Cataclysm daily was the perfume one, because you made people sparkle. The others were just showing up or killing X of Y which is my least-favorite type of quest ever. Those were just not engaging.

Leave a Reply

